Day 1: From ‘Soliloquy of the Solipsist’

Val Britton

I
I walk alone;
With a shudder and a stutter through
the cold dark streets of winter that
lead to nowhere and everywhere.

I
I walk alone;
Turning a deaf ear to the warnings of
heavy snow clinging down my back saying
I should leave this place for home.

I
I walk alone;
The wind can protest, the wind can whisper;
The path might be enveloped with fog but
in the hands of time, they change.

I
I walk alone;
And thus I am resilient, if days would move kindly;
As I see the beacon of hope clearly, why
look back when you can move forward?

_____________________________________________________________________________

Prompt: NaPoWriMo Begins!

First lines derived from Sylvia Plath‘s Soliloquy of the Solipsist.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

